NeverGiveUp_Boy's Blog

Archive for January 25th, 2020

Sometimes, some moments, you need to write it down and share it because when you look back later and read, it will give you a smile or even a good laugh. So here’s a New Year short story for you.

I went to my cousin’s house today for Lunar New Year visit, and I gave my little niece and nephew Lucky Red Pocket for new year. Here’s the full-on conversation between my cousin, my little niece E , read on:

-Cousin: Hey E. come here, I need to tell you something – holding the red lucky money pocket, she said – in our tradition, you need to earn this pocket and not just take it for granted. You need to earn it by wishing the person who gave it to you. The better the wish the more money you get. The wish needs to be customised to the person, like you can’t just wish a general things. You need to look at the person and see what does he or she need. Now go on, wish Uncle and you will earn this red pocket.

-E: I don’t know what to wish – She said shyly and hiding next to her mom.

-Cousin: Well, if you don’t wish then I think I should earn this lucky pocket then. Think about what he needs, what he likes. Think about what he does. What do you think Uncle like to do?

-Nephew (quickly thinking): Uncle, I wish you will get all your dreams come true, and have a lot of health and luck this year.

-E: Baking! Oh! I wish you make a lot of macarons!!! – sounds super excited!

-Cousin: Hey hey…wait… let me clarify things here, I don’t think I get the idea through. It is what he needs, not what you wants E!

(We all laugh at this point)

-E: Oh… I don’t know…

-Cousin: So what does a baker do? What does a baker needs or afraid of?

-E: BURNED!!! OHHHH I WISH UNCLE WILL… WILL… BAKE IT RIGHT!!!

-Cousin’s husband: Ehhh, so E, you’re saying like “well you’re better make it right the macarons hey!!!!?”

-E: No…

-Cousin: Ok.. what else do you think Uncle will like. He’s a big strong man. What does every one like to have?

-E: I don’t know!

My cousin gesture a drawing in the shape of a heart.

-E: Ohhhhh!  A GIRLFRIEND!!!!

-Cousin: Ehem – lower her voice – E, a boyfriend!

-E: Oh! A boyfriend!

-Me: Well, thank you E!

-Cousin: Ok, I think that’s enough to earn this lucky pocket.

And that’s how my little niece wish me on New Year Day: make heaps of macarons, make it right, AND find a boyfriend! 😀

Happy Lunar New Year!

 

 

 


NEWS + ANNOUNCEMENTS:

*NEW MONTHLY BLOG UPDATE: The blog for December 2013 New Year Eve has been published:
-Title: Decembre'13 - Step forward with courage and wisdom
(With the new crest for 2014!!!)

January 2020
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other subscribers
Follow NeverGiveUp_Boy's Blog on WordPress.com

Newest comments

Naanny Butterchicken on Is that guy a bad person?
Naanny Butterchicken on Is that guy a bad person?
Naanny Butterchicken on Is that guy a bad person?

Blog Stats

  • 19,991 hits

Follow me on Facebook!